Coursera Week #2 Recap

I just finished week 2 of my Coursera course, and I am exhausted. The assignment was around 70 pages of reading–two chapters from the book–plus the lecture and 3-4 articles that were just “recommended reading.” I’ve been taking notes of the reading and pretty much ignoring everything else, honestly. This week’s material covers IP, a subject I covered fairly extensively in law school, so maybe I’ll try relying more on the lectures.

So, it turns out that the 14-day deadline for the quiz was just for the first quiz; all the subsequent quizzes have a 1-week deadline. I just made the deadline for Week 2 because it took so long to get through all the reading. (Seriously, most of my law school assignments weren’t this long and involved!)

The content is still fine—the book is informative and thorough, and the few lectures I’ve watched were clear and easy to follow. I’m not crazy about the emphasis on forum participation, though. I reviewed the class policies last weekend, and it turns out that participation in the forum is a significant portion of the grading. Forum participation is based on number of posts, upvotes, starting threads, and some other criteria, but basically, I have to make 20 posts in order to get full credit. Meh. The class is so big that forum participation is difficult. I’m looking for smaller threads to participate in; I should be able to meet the requirements, but even if I don’t, it’s not like I’m taking the class for credit.

I’m not following along with the case study as well as I should—it’s been hard enough to get through the reading. My goals for next week are to work more on the case study and watch all the lectures.  Hopefully, doing these things will help me strike the balance between the readings and the social aspects of the class.

0 Responses to “Coursera Week #2 Recap”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About the Author

Archives


