Full-Time Blogging

As most of you know, I manage blogs for the Adams Law Firm in Knoxville and one of their clients. A lot of my friends, and even my boss at the firm, have suggested that I turn my blog management into a full-time, small business. The only problem is that I have no idea where to begin.

I’d like to target law firms specifically, because I know a lot of them are trying to get involved in social media and blogging, but don’t have the time for it. I know there are “law blogging” companies out there, but I’d like to keep my focus local to wherever I am (ideally, Atlanta, but Nashville and Knoxville would be accessible, too) so that I could provide more personal, one-on-one consulting. I’ve enjoyed getting to know the lawyers at the firm I’m blogging for now, and I think that kind of interpersonal relationship is important. Putting a face to a screen name or e-mail address makes the job more fun for me.

So all that said, I need advice. I know I need a website, for starters. I’ve never started my own business, though, and so I have no idea how to market myself, recruit employees, or approach potential clients. I’d appreciate any and all advice. 🙂

1 Response to “Full-Time Blogging”


  1. 1 Sophia May 13, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    I don’t know about your area, but where I live there are small business organizations for women (some nonprofit, one government) that give this kind of advice, provide mentors, and even provide loans. So if I were to start my own business, I’d look at these types of programs first. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

About the Author

Archives


