Newsarama: Girls and Fandom

Or, “Newsarama says what I’ve been saying since Mary Jane bent over the laundry basket and showed us her thong.” (But that subject wouldn’t fit up there…)

Read the whole thing, but notice this part:

Over the years, I’ve grown exceptionally good at navigating comic shops and the varied reactions of the employees/owners. And I remember each clerk who was condescending, who was rude, and I took my money elsewhere…

So, con-goers and fans, think about all of this when you’re at SDCC and you roll your eyes at the squealing teenage girls (and trust me, I don’t like listening to squealing either). Those girls have money and just as much right to be there as you do. And it couldn’t hurt to be nice to them.

That dovetails nicely with my Con Questions post, in which I talked about the importance of a dealer’s reputation, as well as my post on the sexist goings-on during ComicCon, in which I (again) talk about female fans and disposable income.

I’m getting really, really sick of people bitching about the Twilight fans at SDCC. I’m glad I’m not in San Diego, because if I was, I know some obnoxious fanboy would get a crotch full of Catwoman motorcycle boot if he so much as sniffed at a TwiFan in front of me. I am by no means a fan of Meyer’s creation, but the douchebags complaining that those young women don’t belong there need to put their big boy pants on and get over it, cause chances are, other people bitched about their beloved fandoms in the same way at one time or another, too. It’s gotten to the point that if you bitch about Twilight fans at SDCC I’m automatically assuming that you’re afraid of lady parts because you’re not complaining about the franchise, you’re complaining about the fans. And eventually, that kind of behavior—complaining about the women at “your” con—is going to make women feel so unwelcome that the only costumer who will show up for the Slave Leia shoot at the con will be this guy. (And if that happens, fanboys, you fucking earned and deserve it.)

0 Responses to “Newsarama: Girls and Fandom”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About the Author

Archives


