Trek Weekend

Star Trek came out on Friday, and it is AWESOME. I saw it on IMAX and I can’t wait to see it again. It was fast-paced, exciting, and funny. There was plenty of fan service (Tribbles, original sound effects, red shirts, etc.)—and even, I think, a nod to 2001 in the design of the space suits—but the fan service wasn’t too blatant or distracting. One part seemed kind-of campy, but it was appropriate and actually made sense. (It had to do with the Red Matter.) I loved all of the characters; Chekov really stood out to me, probably because I was as excited as he was. I really liked Uhura too. And OMG Karl Urban was awesome. I knew going in that I’d probably love Kirk and Spock, and I did, but I was really happy and surprised that all of the characters stood out so much. I thought it was a great ensemble cast. Anyways, many of my frequent internet haunts have been Trek-obsessed this weekend, so here’s a taste of what I’ve been reading this weekend:

Video: LOST vs. Star Trek in Action Figures I love that the Sylar figure makes an appearance.
John Scalzi: Trek Movie Cheat Sheets There’s a haiku for every film. 😀
Great Star Trek Covers of the Past 40 Years I love the Esquire cover with the Spock Art; it looks so cool!
Science Lessons from the new Star Trek Movie (Popular Mechanics)
Newsweek Video: Quinto and Nimoy on Spock
Video: Quinto, Pine and Nimoy were on SNL last night.
Video: Artist on Artist: Star Trek I generally hate myspace, but this is actually pretty good. I’m amazed at how Zachary Quinto can contort and cross his legs like that. O.O Geeks of Doom also posts a short clip showing Pine meeting Shatner.
Why is the media trying to make ST fans look like naysaying dorks? (io9) “Not dorky,” my ass. Since when did singularities become trendy? 😉
Spock Spools Artwork of Spock made with spools of thread. It’s kind of crazy, but definitely creative.

Reviews (Beware of spoilers!)
Sam’s Review
io9’s review
Gizmodo’s review Worth clicking just for the hilarious picture of the action figures on the bridge surrounded by about 20 lens flares.
Ed Morrissey’s review at HA
Vodkapundit: Going Boldly
Star Trek: The Franchise is Back (Geeks of Doom)
Rotten Tomatoes Currently, the movie is at 96%! Yay! (Also: kind of unbelievable.)

0 Responses to “Trek Weekend”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About the Author

Archives


