“Sewing Machine Hoax hits Saudi Arabia”

BBC News

The Singer sewing machines are said to contain traces of red mercury, a substance that may not exist.

But it is widely thought that it can be used to find treasure, ward off evil spirits or even make nuclear bombs.

As a costumer, I find this extremely amusing. I wish my sewing machine could help me find treasure—I’d never have to worry about funding a costume ever again!

(via JammieWearingFool)

2 Responses to ““Sewing Machine Hoax hits Saudi Arabia””


  1. 1 Jimmie April 17, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    So this warding off evil spirits thing – do you have to hit the spirit with the sewing machine, or lay it on top of the possessed person, or just sit it in your sewing room like a talisman? I think the Catholic Church is holding out on us.

    • 2 jlmolinaro April 17, 2009 at 7:05 pm

      I have no idea. Mine is sitting in its box, and as far as I can tell I haven’t become possessed (law school does, however, turn me into a bit of a zombie sometimes!)

      I hope that it wards off spirits while being used, or else I’ve got a choice to make…. and I think that costumes will trump my spiritual safety. Haha.


Leave a Reply

About the Author

Archives


