Derek Deweese: “A spot of tea seems to be in order”

Excerpt:

“As long as you are breathing, there is a way to make things work. It might suck for a while, and you might have to sell your nice car and tv. You might need to go from filet mignon, to beefaroni, and caviar to carryout. Your standard of living will change, but that should be motivation to work harder and vow to return to the higher standard once you can afford it.”

I think I’m going to go to the Tea Party tomorrow in World’s Fair Park to mingle and take pictures. It starts at 3:00 pm and runs until 6:00 pm. I fully support what these protests stand for: a small, fiscally responsible government. I’m tired of people who complain about how what they have isn’t good enough and how they’re entitled to something better. I’m tired of people who refuse to work for anything, and I’m sick of having a government that gives people an incentive not to work.

My father has worked two (or more) jobs since I was in high school. He worked for a company helping people adapt to the Y2K computer transition but got laid off shortly thereafter. My mother has been unemployed for nearly two years; she has gone to dozens and dozens of interviews, but she still hasn’t gotten a job. She was working retail, but was replaced after she had hip-replacement surgery last July. My family’s financial situation isn’t great right now, but we’re working through it. We’re not asking the government for money or whining about the “rich people” who have “too much money.” We don’t believe that people should be forced to give up what they worked hard earning. We know that government isn’t the solution, it’s the problem, and we don’t blame other people for our misfortunes. Yet we’re the ones paying for those who don’t pay taxes, refuse to work at a job they feel is “beneath” them, and feel entitled to a house they can’t pay for. Why? Why should I be forced to support someone’s unsustainable lifestyle and encourage them not to change?

I believe in equal opportunity, not equal results. I believe that the government should answer to the people—not the other way around. I believe that the party in power is doing everything it can to stifle dissent by pointing fingers and whining about not being “bipartisan.” The government is spending too much and is injecting itself into too much of society. It’s high time that people stand up against government excess in any form, and it’s high time the politicians listen to US, their constituents.

This is why I’m going to the Tea Party; it’s not because I’m racist or hate poor people (uh.. hi, grad student here, living off of loans.) It’s not because I’m butthurt because the Democrats are in power or because Fox News is paying me to be there. It’s because I believe in small government and want to let Washington know that I refuse to pay for all of their nonsense.

0 Responses to “Derek Deweese: “A spot of tea seems to be in order””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About the Author

Archives


